The government of France is a semi-presidential system determined by the French Constitution of the fifth Republic, in which the nation declares itself to be "an indivisible, secular, democratic, and social Republic". The constitution provides for a separation of powers and proclaims France's attachment to the Rights of Man and the principles of national sovereignty as defined by the Declaration of 1789.